In Search of the Perfect Haircut

I’ve had some great haircuts and I have had some horrible ones. As a kid, going to the hairdresser was mortifying because the stylist would always want to run the teeniest comb through my natural curls and then, after cutting it, tease it and blowdry it into a dry, frizzy rat’s nest. Why??!!

I’ve had mullet nightmares, layering nightmares, and even a cut that made my head look like a mushroom. I have also had some great cuts. One of my favorites was done by my hairstylist friend. I asked her to cut around 8 inches off my hair and she almost refused. She was so worried that I would hate my hair and then in turn, hate her. But I loved it! The haircuts I have been getting over the past few years have been OK. They’ve been good enough to work with, but not fabulous. I am looking for fabulous! The thing is, it’s not the hairstylists’ fault. Most stylists have not been trained to cut curly hair. They comb it to death and pull it out straight to cut it. Since I started reading up about the Curly Girl method and alternative techniques for cutting curly hair, I have been searching for someone who is trained in these methods. Unfortunately, there is no one with this training near where I live.

My little sis got her hair cut a few weeks ago at a local salon and I really like the results she got, so I decided to give it a try. I wasn’t 100% sure if I wanted to just shape up my current style and keep most of the length or if I wanted to be brave and try an inverted bob (like this except curly). After some discussion, we decided to just trim up and even out my layers and to let the front section of my hair grow a little before attempting the bob. I asked the stylist to cut my hair dry. She still combed it out a little which scared me a bit, but I just closed my eyes and hoped for the best. During my session, she asked me a few questions like what kind of shampoo I use and what styling products I use. Now, I don’t know why, but I was kind of afraid to tell her about my natural, no poo, no sulfates or silicones routine. I don’t know, maybe it’s because it was my first time there and I didn’t know her well. I just wasn’t ready to go into it with her. So, when she was done cutting, she wet my hair, scrunched in some product (God only knows what kind of crap was in that), and I was on my way.

The thing about haircuts, at least for me, is that I never know if I like it when I leave the salon. I have to go home, re-wet it, and style it the way I normally would to get a handle on whether I like it or not. So, I did just that when I got home and wow! I was pleasantly surprised. I really love my new cut. It’s bouncier, has more movement and body, and isn’t just lifelessly hanging anymore. I definitely think I will go back there. So far, my plan is to go back after the holidays and get the inverted bob. For now, I’m happy. It wasn’t a Deva cut, but she seemed to have a handle on my hair and what was causing the problems that I expressed to her. And that makes me smile 🙂

Before (left) and After (right)

Leave a Reply

