The Proposal

Yes, that’s right folks, I’m gettin’ hitched! Michael put me into shock last week when he popped the question…at work! It went something like this:
It was a dreary Friday morning, after a long week of working in Mike’s child care center, trying to train up some of his new staff. I was tired and sore after hurting my back and I just wanted to stay in bed, but something made me drag myself out of bed and go to work anyway. So, I was laminating some classroom materials when one of the teachers came into the office and said, “Carrie, you really need to come downstairs, Johnny (that’s what we’ll call him) has something to show you.” I immediately went into panic mode because Johnny is a particularly precocious child, to put it mildly. But the slight grin on the teacher’s face told me that it wasn’t anything alarming. So, I was expecting to see a child covered in paint or dunking things in the toilet. I was never expecting what he really had to show me.
I went down the steps and turned the corner into the classroom, and there was Michael, surrounded by all the children.


I thought, “Ok, what’s going on?” Then the children all said, “Will you marry Mister Mike?!” I would pay now to see the initial dumb look on my face because a million different things ran through my mind. Then little Johnny walked over to me with the ring.


After a few minutes of laughing and “wow”ing and taking it all in, I realized that I hadn’t given a response to the question.


“Yes!” I said. Hugs and kisses followed, along with squealing, hooting, and hollering from the rest of the teachers in the building when they heard the good news.


Now, almost a week later, it hasn’t completely sunk in yet. I’m still in the *stare at the ring on my finger whenever I get a chance* phase. Who knew a shiny object could be so distracting?!

Leave a Reply

