A Brief Pause


Ever since we got engaged, life seems to have become a whirlwind of activity. We have been trying to work out the details of an August destination wedding, we moved Michael into a new house, and work has been a flurry of activity and new projects.
I am super-excited about our wedding plans. We have decided to have just a very small and simple wedding in Georgia. Mike’s sister helped us out and found a lovely venue for our ceremony and reception, the Chateau Elan. I have never been a huge fan of all the pomp and circumstance that goes along with big weddings. Even this venue seemed a little too fancy pants for me at first, but the beauty of the wedding package is that everything is included, so I don’t really have to plan anything. We are opting for an Intimate wedding for only 25 people…just parents and siblings.


I would love to just elope and be done with it, but this is Mike’s first marriage and I know he really wants his closest family members to be involved. They are scattered out all around the country, so it will be a great excuse to get everyone together. I’m sure that we will have other family and friends that will be disappointed to be excluded, so I am hoping we will be able to have another reception in Pennsylvania after the wedding…maybe in the Fall. Mike’s sister also hooked me up with a photographer who is going to give us a really good deal. I didn’t have a photographer the first time around and since I have become somewhat of a photography junkie, I definitely want some great pics this time.

Well, Michael seems to be settling into the new house pretty well. I will be moving in there with him after we get married, so I guess I have been a little more vocal about decor and the like. It’s not that difficult though. We have very similar tastes. I am not quite sure how I am going to fit some of my furniture in the new place, but I suppose he will just have to make room for me. The house is a little older but it’s pretty cute. There are 2 bedrooms, a living room, dining room, kitchen, bathroom, laundry room, and Mike is excited to have his very own “man cave,” otherwise known as the office, or den. We also have lots of storage space in the basement and a lovely fireplace which I am enjoying right now.

Work has been keeping me really busy. This month especially has been crazy. I keep getting roped into different projects, presenting at an early childhood conference, facilitating a kindergarten readiness program, doing mock interviews for early childhood students, the list goes on, not to mention the usual craziness of training new teachers and preparing for the end of the year. I am ready for a break! The weather has been fantastic and I am so ready for some picnics and road trips!

Happy Spring everyone!

Leave a Reply

