Catching Up

Oh my. The past few weeks have been busy and I have been neglecting my blog. I have a feeling this summer is going to be crazy! Of course, we have wedding planning to do. Even though most of the work will be done by our coordinator at Chateau Elan, there are still lots of things we need to do. We bought our wedding bands and managed to find a suit for Mike to wear. I still need to find a dress. I have been scouring the internet and found a few that I like, but I hesitate to buy one that way. I really would like to be able to try it on just to make sure I like the fit. We also need to try to start planning a reception for when we get back from Georgia. Some friends agreed to let us use their house and yard to have our party, so we just have to figure out when we want to do it.

I started the first of the two summer courses I have to take. It’s only a 4 week course, but it’s 15 weeks of content crammed into that short amount of time. Six chapters to read, a quiz to take, discussion questions to answer, and several projects to start, just in the first week. I don’t know how I am going to keep up.

We are on a summer break from Bible Study, which I think that everyone needs. That will free up my Tuesday nights, which is good because my summer classes are going to consume all my free time, I have a feeling. I am still reading with my book club. I didn’t get a chance to write about last month’s choice, but I will try to be sure to write about the one we are reading this month.

The cats we adopted are doing really well and we are really starting to see their individual personalities show through. Loki is every bit the mischievous little imp. He does what he wants, when he wants. He loves to chase Vita around and attack her by biting her neck. They wrestle for awhile and then Vita either chases him off, or she runs away from him. Then the chase begins all over again. Vita instigates Loki and sometimes she will even sneak-attack him. This can go on for hours at a time. Vita is the quiet one I guess. She is warming up to Mike a lot more now. I’m not sure if it’s a good thing that he is letting them sleep in the bed with him. They love to look out the windows and lay in the window sills. Loki doesn’t really want to have anything to do with me unless I am in the bathroom. Then he tries to get in the shower with me and he will climb right up on the sink when I am brushing my teeth or putting on my makeup and meow at me as if he’s asking me what I am doing. They really have been quite a joy to have around.

Last weekend we went to Pittsburgh to visit some friends. We stayed with my high school friend, Kelly, on Friday night. It was so nice to spend time with her and the baby. He’s growing so fast! I tried to get some pictures, but he’s a tough subject because he’s really on the move, so most of them came out blurry. I am hoping to get more in June when I go to visit for his first birthday. On Saturday, we met up with my friends, Amy and Don. Amy and I were roomies in college for a year and she lives in Atlanta now. She and her husband were in Pittsburgh to meet up with some of his college buddies, so we went out to lunch and did some shopping in the strip district. We had lots of laughs and fun, but the time always comes to an end too soon.

This weekend we went to Wilkes-Barre to visit our friends Tim and Betsy. Ah, what a great time! We went to the Arts Festival to take in all the sights and then went back to their house for some steaks on the grill…and wine…and beer…and tequila. Oh my! Betsy and Tim have embarked on a year long journey to try to eliminate processed foods from their diet. So, the steaks were grass-fed beef and she made couscous salad and roasted asparagus, along with artisan bread. It was all amazing! You can read more about it here.

Well, I hope I will be back here posting sooner rather than later. Memorial Day is coming up, a trip to Philly, and another trip to Pittsburgh. Like I said, this summer will be anything but dull!

Leave a Reply

