Cabin Fever

Things have been pretty quiet at the Bruning house. The relentless cold and snow have left me feeling lazy. Weekends have been nothing but dotted bits of inactivity between the long work stretches of the week. I am bored, my brain is mushy, even my camera is uninspired.

Even Moxie looks bored…

…and the cats are itching for some bird watching.

A old classmate of mine recently emailed me to share a journal entry that she had written during our high school trip to France. Her parents found it when they were cleaning out their attic. It was funny to look back and remember how boy-crazy we all were and marvel at the fact that we were only 16 years old, roaming around a foreign country by ourselves and not really knowing the language. It could have been trouble in so many ways. Then I started thinking about the semester I spent in France as a college student. A little bit older, a little bit wiser, but still quite capable of getting into a lot of trouble. My mom must have been a nervous wreck for the 6 months that I was gone. I thought about the late nights, strolling home from the clubs at 5 in the morning, hopping on trains and traveling to other countries, after-dinner coffee with friends every night, the cheese, the wine, and the bread, oh my God, the bread. I flipped through my photos and remembered every funny, liberating, frustrating, terrifying, life-changing moment…and in the process accomplished only one thing…giving myself a major case of the travel bug.

The past two years have been chock-full of little trips here and there…Philly, Pittsburgh, Georgia for the wedding (I’m still working on that post), Florida. Even if we only went an hour away, we spent many weekends away from home. So, once the wedding was over and I started my new job and we had to tighten the purse strings a bit, we had to just stay home for awhile. And it’s fine. We needed a break. We like the doing-nothingness of being home, especially when it’s 10 below zero outside and the whole world is covered with layers and layers of snow and ice. There’s nothing quite like staying in bed longer than I should, spending the day in my bathrobe, curled up by the fire with a cup of tea or a glass of wine and reading a good book or watching a movie or pretending to watch a movie but then falling asleep on the couch (yes, I have become my mother). These are a few of my favorite things..but enough is enough already. Spring just can’t come soon enough. And while the world is praising the Almighty Groundhog for failing to see his shadow, I have a feeling it’s only a matter of time before they’re all cursing him again. Because we all know that we always have a January or February warm-weather teaser before the next big storm hits.

But, I digress. Where was I again? Oh yeah…the travel bug. Well, now I’ve gone and started looking at vacation destination and rental options and the bug has really taken over. I keep daydreaming about strolling with Michael down some cobblestone streets, sipping espresso in a cafe, shopping for wine, visiting museums, and seeking out the perfect photo opportunities. But mostly, I’m dreaming about getting away from it all for just a little while. Oh, the planning has begun, the passports will be purchased, a condo will be reserved, and eventually we will be on our way.

I have a pretty good idea where I want to go. Anyone care to venture a guess? Or make a suggestion? P.S. We are not beach people!

Leave a Reply

