Coming out of the Dark

I know. It’s the title of a bad Gloria Estefan song, but it just came to me people, give me a break. Cheesy as it may sound, it’s a pretty good way to describe how I’m feeling right now. After months and months of preparing for a federal review at work and never knowing when “the Feds” might pop in, and dreading every Monday that they could potentially do so, it’s finally over. They came, they saw, and hopefully they don’t want to shut us down. The stress of starting a new program and at the same time knowing that someone would be coming to go over our work with a fine-toothed comb has really taken it’s toll on me. I have been completely and utterly exhausted, mentally and emotionally drained…and grumpy, very grumpy.

This long, cold, and dark winter has also left me feeling rather zombie-like. I just really want to get outside and bask in the sunshine. I finally see 70s in the weather forecast…we shall see. After months and months of cold, ice, snow, rain, ice, snow, cold, gray, cold, rain, ice, cold, gray, and more gray, I am ready for a good sunshine-soaked, flip-flop wearin’, windows open kind of day.

My final class will be finished in about 5 weeks and I should have my early childhood certification at that point. I still have a few tests to take, a few papers to write, and a huge portfolio to put together, but I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Life here has been really, really, exceptionally dull, except for the overwhelming stress of work. But now, I have several fun outings and activities to plan for and look forward to. Michael and I are going to go bike shopping today, so we can hit the trails this year. Next weekend I am going to a photography workshop with my friends, Bee and Monica (can’t WAIT for that!) and we’ve got a trip to Pittsburgh coming up at the end of the month. So, maybe I’ll actually have some time and inspiration for my camera and my blog so I can be here more often 🙂

Leave a Reply

