Mother’s Day Musings (and a little announcement)

Well, I was going to wait a little while longer to make the announcement on my blog, but in light of the holiday, and the fact that most of my readers already know the good news, I’m just going to spill it. The Bruning family is going to become three! We are expecting a baby just in time for Christmas!

And even though I have this amazing news and I am so grateful for where I am now, the holiday really made me reflect on where I’ve been. For most of my adult life, Mother’s Day has been bittersweet for me. It’s a wonderful opportunity to appreciate my mom and the other amazing women in my life and thank them for all that they are and all that they do. At the same time, I’ve always wondered if I would ever be a mom and in the most recent years, was starting to accept the fact that I might never receive flowers or a card on Mother’s Day. And that’s tough. Everywhere I look (facebook is the worst), I run into quotes and other sentiments about being a mother and what a blessing it is and I’ve wondered, “Why not me? Am I not worthy to be a mother?” I’ve also seen a lot of quotes about the selflessness of mothers and how God smiles upon them and how parents are better than the rest of us because they sacrifice so much for their children. Those statements have always left me feeling unworthy and left out. The childless are often looked upon as selfish and uncaring, but you just never know a person’s story. Any childless woman you know may have longed to be a mother or may be longing to be a mother right now or she may even be sacrificing a great deal of her love, energy, and time to taking care of people around her, even if she has chosen not to have children.

So, on this Mother’s Day, even though I graciously accepted every “Happy Mother’s Day” wish, and felt a swelling happiness in my heart over this new life inside me, I could not forget where I’ve been, and I could not forget those who might be struggling with infertility or broken relationships or the loss of their mom or child. So I’m sending a great big hug out to all the moms, moms-to-be, those who selflessly take care of family and friends, and those still longing to be moms.

Happy Mother’s Day!

One thought on “Mother’s Day Musings (and a little announcement)

Leave a Reply

