A space for the wee one…

Since I have been feeling more like a normal human being, I have been thinking a lot about and doing a lot of online searches for nursery ideas. We should be moved into the new house by the end of July and I’m starting to get pretty excited about setting up the nursery. I have a pretty good idea what I want to do, even though we don’t know the gender of the baby yet. I’m hoping to stay pretty neutral and then adding some girly or boyish touches, depending on what we’re expecting. I don’t really like to be theme-y or overly coordinated in my decorating, and that applies to the baby’s room too. I like an eclectic mix of items, or choosing one focus item and then sort of decorating the rest of the room around that. In my searches (fun!) I came across some baby room nightmares:

I looks like Winnie the Pooh threw up in here. Don’t get me wrong, I love this honey-loving bear as much as the next person, but this offers no creativity whatsoever, and it’s over-stimulating.

Who could fall asleep in this room?! The color is so overwhelming!

Meh. This is just so matchy-matchy. Blah.

Well, here are a few things I’ve come across that I DO like and a little sneak-preview of what I’ve been thinking about. I’m starting with a piece of artwork we already have in the house, that just hasn’t found a good home yet:

and a few other touches I’ve come across…

Wordle: Twinkle Little Star

These are just a few things I’ve found, but I’m sure the room will evolve on it’s own as I start working on it and I know that family and friends are probably going to buy me a mix and match of different things and I love that. I would rather have sentimental items that come from someone special than a rolled-out-of-the-factory look. Though I have to admit that a part of me wants to keep the gender a secret because I’m afraid once we announce the sex, we are going to get an overabundance of blue or pink things. I’m not very good at keeping secrets though, so we’ll see. In the meantime, the planning is so much fun!

Leave a Reply

