The Second Trimester

What they say about the second trimester was also true for me. My energy came back, the nausea went away, in fact, I felt like a million bucks for most of the time. Around 15 weeks, I started to feel little flutters from the baby. They weren’t really strong enough to call them kicks, but I definitely knew it wasn’t gas.

 15 Weeks
 17 Weeks

On July 28th, I went in for my anatomy scan. As soon as the sonographer put the wand on my belly he commented that the baby was bouncing its head on my bladder. No wonder I’m peeing all the time! We got to see the long spine and he reported that the baby was probably weighing about 11 ounces and looked healthy and right on track for growth. He wasn’t able to get a good profile picture of the face because the baby was hiding its head very low in my pelvis, playing hide and seek with us. However, we were able to get a look at the “goods”, so to speak, and discovered we are having a little GIRL!

 That’s a heck of a spine!

Around weeks 20-22 I started noticing a LOT more movement and even started to be able to see and feel her moving from the outside.

 20 Weeks

It has become my mission to eat…a lot…and I do! I’ve managed to stay mostly primal during my pregnancy. My cheats tend to be of the sugary variety and not in the grains department. The few times I have eaten grains (mainly due to lack of any other choices), I became ill within an hour and had to wait for it to “pass” before I could leave the fetal position. I’ve noticed wheat is particularly nasty when your body is no longer used to consuming it. But, as a result of my food choices, I have gained very little weight and have suffered none of the ill effects that some of my other pregnant pals have reported (heartburn, swelling, back pain, Braxton Hicks contractions, elevated blood pressure). Nope, it’s been pretty much smooth sailing. For the first time, at my 24 week visit, the midwife commented about my weight. She didn’t scold me, but “noticed” that I hadn’t really gained. “As long as you’re eeeaating,” she said to me. Um yeah, I’m eating. Momma can put back some food. I’m just not eating crap. Well, maybe a little crap. But mostly no crap. My little girl does like some chocolate though. She goes crazy in there when I eat it. Anyway, after the comment about my weight, she measured my belly and I was right on track, so I am not worried about it. I’m supposed to gain about a pound a week from this point on, so I figure if I do that I should have about a 20 lb. gain overall, which is not too shabby. It might seem like I am a bit obsessed about my weight, but mainly I am just proud of myself for sticking to healthy food choices and I am excited about the idea of bouncing back pretty quickly after the baby is born, especially at my age.

These past few months have been a very busy time for us. We bought a new house and moved. I have been traveling a lot for work. We have had a lot on our plates. I am really looking forward to slowing down and getting ready for our little girl’s arrival. In early August I finally bought some baby things. We have decided that we are going to try cloth diapering, so I purchased several different kinds of diapers, both new and second-hand, so that we can figure out what will work best once the baby is here. I also started buying some clothes, mainly because they were on extreme clearance at Old Navy and I couldn’t resist! I know, everyone tells me that we will get tons of clothes at the shower, but how could I say no to these adorable outfits?

One of the coolest side effects of the second tri (and I admit, this may sound vain) is that I have people tell me on a daily basis how cute and adorable I am. Seriously, I can’t remember a time when I have gotten so many compliments on my looks. People are always telling me I look so good and all I can do is smile and say thank you! I must be carrying around an extension of the baby’s cuteness (of course my baby is going to be cute!) and it’s carrying through somehow. And I am very aware that it will probably stop as soon as the baby is born, so I am enjoying it while I can.

As I move toward my third trimester, I am definitely noticing a lot more movement.  I’m able to lie on my side and watch as our baby girl bumps around or sweeps a leg or arm (not sure which) across my belly.  I’m growing…Michael took this picture of me and I was amazed at how big my belly looks.  I didn’t realize I had grown that much.

 26 Weeks

I have to admit I’m a little scared about what lies ahead.  I know the next three months are going to bring a lot more growth and things are going to get crowded in there.  My gestational diabetes test is coming up and I will move to twice monthly appointments instead of monthly.  I’m planning to sign up for childbirth and breastfeeding classes and I know I’ve got to make some decisions about my birth plan and schedule a tour of the hospital.  But I’m also looking forward to the shower and getting the nursery ready and, while I am nervous about childbirth, I am starting to get excited to meet my little girl. 

Leave a Reply

