scenes from the weekend

I had an utterly exhausting weekend.  As I begin to type this, I question whether or not I will be able to keep my eyes open long enough to finish this post.  I probably won’t…just so you know.  Oh well, there’s always tomorrow.

Anyway, Michael and I decided to tear the carpet out of our house on Saturday.  We had actually started this several weeks ago when we yanked the carpet from our second floor hallway and our stairs.  But the carpet remained in our TV room because we had not found the time to move out all the furniture.  Don’t ask me how, but we managed to do this with Evelyn around.  I had originally arranged for a friend to come over and hang out with her while we did the hard work, but those plans fell through so we were on our own to move everything, rip out the carpet, and remove all the staples and tacking strips…all while keeping Evelyn happy and entertained.  In a way I wish I had taken pictures of the TV room because I am of the mindset that a blog is kind of worthless (or maybe just boring) without pictures, but I’m glad I didn’t because I still have a lot of work to do and I’m not ready for the big reveal.  (More on that later.)

On Sunday, I went to a family reunion and then came home to another family gathering on the patio.  Michael stayed home from the family reunion, so just Evelyn and I went together.  It was the usual gathering with lots of food.  Since we were out of our normal element, Evelyn didn’t nap well.  She is just so curious about everything that’s going on…new places, new people, new things to see and do.  She doesn’t want to miss a second.

Ok, so just a few pictures from the reunion…and then bed.

Uncle Nick is so entertaining…

…and Uncle Luke puts me to sleep.

four generations: Evelyn, mommy (me), grandpa, and great-grandma

Leave a Reply

