whole 30 challenge

Well, now that we’re back from vacation, it’s time to start the Whole 30 Challenge.  If you aren’t familiar with it, the challenge is 30 days of eating nothing but whole, clean foods, nothing processed, and no grains, sugar, dairy, legumes, alcohol, or sweeteners of any kind.  It follows the principles of the paleo diet, which you can read more about here.  Michael talked me into trying this a few months ago and I failed miserably.  Things were crazy at work, I was stressed, and I had been indulging in sugar a bit too often before we started.  The result was a very tired, angry, miserable me.  I found out later that the way I was feeling was totally normal, since my body was working through all the crap I had been eating before.  This handy little guide breaks it all down:

So, we went on vacation and since I knew we would be starting the Whole 30 when we got home, I probably indulged a little more than I should have.  French bread and ice cream made the top of my list.  I definitely feel more committed this time around.  I really NEED to get back on track.  When I first started eating a paleo diet, I was pretty hardcore about it and I felt amazing.  Then I got pregnant and I started slowly breaking the rules and, to be honest, I haven’t been 100% back on track ever since then.  So, this is a way to reset my body and recommit myself to my health.

One of the “rules” of the Whole 30 is that you are not allowed to weigh yourself for the duration of the challenge.  I haven’t decided if I am going to stick to that one or not.  I hopped on the scale this morning and I was so disappointed in myself.  145 pounds.  For me that’s pretty bad considering the fact that at 3 months postpartum, I weighed 15 pounds less than I do now.  I am at the end of day one and it went a lot easier than I thought, though I definitely feel the “hangover” setting in.  I started to feel a headache coming on this afternoon and now it’s full blown.  Ugh.  I’m hoping I’ll feel better tomorrow, but I’m not counting on it.  I’ll be posting with updates about once a week, so stay tuned to see if I’m still pushing through it.

2 thoughts on “whole 30 challenge

  1. Good luck! It sounds amazing and terrible 😉 My friend has followed something similar (the caveman diet?) and lost a ton of weight. Of course, she was working with a personal trainer who kicked her butt as well but I know she wouldn’t have had the success she had without the diet.

    I commend and admire anyone who finds a way to become master of their body! I’ve always been intrigued by this style of eating. Probably because I now it’s real eating. Can you drink coffee still? I fear the answer is no and now I’ll never try it! 😉 Keep us updated.

  2. Thanks Chris! Yes, I am still drinking coffee, though I’m using almond milk in it instead of half and half and I’m none too happy about it. I think the “caveman” diet is probably similar to paleo and primal diets. There are different variations and some people are more strict than others. Some people avoid dairy altogether, but my hubby and I still eat it (however, not during the whole 30). When I first started eating this way, I found it much easier than I thought I would. For me, the weight loss is a huge motivation, but the health benefits are huge too. My hubby’s cholesterol and blood pressure improved and my hormones balanced out (I finally got pregnant after 6 years of trying!)

Leave a Reply

