whole 30 update and a quick rant

The last two weeks have been a little crazy, but I am happy to report that I’m still following the Whole 30.  The first week was rough.  By the end of the first day, I could feel the sugar/carb hangover setting in and it stayed around for about 3 days.  I had a blinding, pounding headache that actually sent me home early from work one day.  Once I made it through that, I was fine.  My energy was back, my mood was up, and I’ve been fine ever since.  Oh, and did I mention I lost 6 pounds in the first week?  Fortunately, I didn’t have to deal with the rage and tired phases that can sometimes be expected.  I am confident now that I will be able to make it through to the end.  My weight loss has slowed down in the second week, but when I think back on last year, when I originally started eating paleo/primal, I lost a bunch of weight the first week and then it slowed to about a pound a week.

So, while I am on the topic of diet, I just have to vent about the barrage of weight loss ads I keep seeing on facebook and on TV.  Ugh. Take this pill, drink this shake, inject yourself with this hormone, wrap your body, workout until you puke and you’ll lose inches!  It kind of makes me sad that so many people fall for this stuff.  I have to really bite my tongue when I see people posting about their weight loss efforts.  There are so many times that I want to send people a private massage that goes something like, “Hey, when you give up on that diet, let me know.  I know a way that’s easier and so much healthier…”  But I guess that would seem kind of condescending, no?  But seriously, some of these methods are so unhealthy.  I have a friend who is currently dieting with the help of nutritionists and she is starving herself and taking some kind of insane workout class and after a few weeks of that, she’s sick.  I’m so glad that I found this way of eating and I seriously wish I could get everyone on board, but it’s a really touchy subject I guess.  I try to inform people about it without being too pushy or annoying, and honestly, most people look at me like I am crazy when I tell them about it.  But, the proof is in the puddin’.  I’m losing weight and next month I will have a blood panel run as part of my participation in a wellness program at work.  I will be really curious to see those numbers after a month of eating whole, real food.  I guess we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

