scenes from the weekend

Ahhh, I finally got a weekend at home with nothing to do, nowhere to go, no entertaining, just me and the family and whatever came up.  Well, I had to be at least a little bit productive, so I spent some time in the kitchen, and I whipped up some great food.  Though I’m feeling too lazy to type out the recipes, so I will just link back to the sites where I found them.  I had a hankering for pancakes and I wanted Evelyn to try them, so I whipped up a batch of paleo pancakes (made with coconut flour).  I made half of them with blueberries, but I really preferred the plain ones with a schmear of no-sugar-added apple butter that Michael purchased at a local orchard this week.

Evelyn liked her pancakes I guess.  She spent quite a bit of time picking the blueberries out and dissecting them and when it was all said and done I think she may have eaten 3-4 pieces.

I also whipped up a batch of apple crisp with some of the apples I needed to use.  Oh.my.goodness.  This stuff is incredible…and completely sugar and grain-free.  We topped it off with some coconut milk crema.  So incredibly good, and you’d never know it’s healthy.

I also made bacon wrapped chicken thighs for dinner.  Holy crap, it was amazing!  I didn’t get a picture because we devoured it too quickly.  I didn’t have all the spices that this recipe called for, so I just mixed equal parts of paprika, chili powder, and onion powder, sprinkled it on some skinless thighs, wrapped them in bacon and baked them for about 45 minutes.  We will definitely be making it again.

Michael and I made a thrift store run this weekend.  We usually hit up all the thrift and consignment stores in town about once a month or so.  It had been awhile, so I had high hopes, but I didn’t really find anything exciting, except this little bowl.

I have been scouring Pinterest for ideas for Evelyn’s first birthday and I always see tables set up with lovely cake and cupcake stands.  Several weeks ago I found a variety of white pieces that I had planned to make into a stand for cupcakes and cookies.  This weekend I finally put it together and this white bowl fit in nicely with the stand.  These pieces will eventually hold goodies at Evelyn’s party. 🙂

My sister and her boyfriend stopped by on Saturday evening so we threw a quick fire in the chiminea and took advantage of the nice weather by spending some time on the patio.  We don’t have many pictures of the three of us, so I also took advantage of my sister by having her snap a few shots.

Today was a lazy day.  We went to church, but didn’t leave the house other than that, so today became a time to air out Evelyn’s bum.  She’s been rashy lately, nothing major, but enough to bother me, so I let her run around in her fitted diapers without a cover, so air could circulate around her skin.  I just love using cloth.

Things were pretty dull around here this weekend, but I am looking forward to the weeks ahead.  October is my favorite month and Fall is my favorite time of year.  Soon we’ll be pumpkin patchin’, hay ridin’, spending time with family and friends, and then getting ready for Evelyn’s big day.  So, I’m enjoying this calm before the busy storm of the holidays.  What’s on your plate this weekend?

Leave a Reply

