holiday movie bucket list

This year I’m in the holiday mood a little early (though I’m still not ready for 24 hour Christmas music on the radio).  With Evelyn’s birthday quickly approaching and a million things to do at work, I know the next 6 weeks are going to fly, so I’m already thinking about when to decorate (next weekend) and what my weekends will look like throughout the holiday season.

I don’t have a big bucket list for the holidays like the ones I keep seeing on Pinterest.  I mainly want to just enjoy my daughter this year.  But I do have a list of movies that I have to watch to make my holidays complete.  Here they are, in no particular order…

The Holiday:  I don’t typically like sappy romantic comedies, but I love everything about this movie.  And two hours worth of Jude Law doesn’t hurt either.

While You Were Sleeping:  Ok, I’m not proud of this one.  Bill Pullman is not exactly a leading man to swoon over, but Sandra Bullock is charming and this one has just stuck with me.  But I’ll have to watch it when Michael’s not around because he just won’t tolerate it.

Love Actually:  Are you noticing a theme here?  I’m not sure why I’m so into the love stories around the holidays.

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation:  Now for a change of pace.  This is one that I absolutely cannot miss.  It never loses its funny and inspires a barrage of silly and inappropriate quotes from my family. It’s the perfect combination of stupid and hilarious.  There’s nothing like a little sarcasm and profanity for the holidays!  If you haven’t seen this, crawl out from under that rock and watch it. Now. I’ll wait.

A Christmas Story:  A classic.  Ok, so I know they play it endlessly (for 24 hours) on Christmas day, and it’s probably been a little over-exposed, but I love it anyway.  I first discovered this movie by accident.  I think my mom brought it home from the video store (remember those?) and I was expecting it to be some lame, random Christmas movie.  I never expected it to be so funny.  Watching this movie is tradition.

I know, I know.  There aren’t really any kid’s movies on this list.  Well, of course when Evelyn gets older we will watch all the classics like The Grinch Who Stole Christmas and A Charlie Brown Christmas, but I haven’t really watched those since I was a kid and I will be watching them for many years to come, I’m sure.  So for now, I’ll stick to my favorites.  Which holiday movies make the top of your list?

Leave a Reply

