happy birthday, evelyn!

This weekend we celebrated Evelyn’s first birthday.  I still can’t believe how quickly this year has passed.  Family and friends gathered at our home for cake and ice cream.  I had spent months scouring Pinterest for ideas and I actually ended up using some of them!  Ok, picture time.

I made this cupcake/cookie stand out of random pieces I picked up at the thrift store.  A little epoxy is all it took to put the pieces together.  I filled the stand with double vanilla meringues and vanilla-almond sugar cookies, cut into snowflake shapes and sprinkled with glittery sugar.

DSC_0775

These vanilla cupcakes with vanilla buttercream icing turned out so nice.  I had fun making the snowflakes by piping melted white chocolate onto parchment paper with a snowflake pattern under it.  I just did a Google search for the snowflake image and printed it out, then placed it under the parchment paper and used it as a template.

DSC_0780

DSC_0797

DSC_0800

We started by opening gifts because I was anticipating having a very messy child once we gave her some cake.

DSC_0832

Hand made socks from great-grandma.

DSC_0864

My co-worker brought her baby to the party.  We were pregnant at the same time and the little ones were quite interested in each other.

DSC_0942

Finally, the birthday girl, ready for her cake.  I made the ribbon decorations based on a pic I saw on Pinterest. I just used the sewing machine to attach random lengths of ribbon to another piece of ribbon.  I used clear tape to attach it to the tray of her high chair.

DSC_0952

She was quite interested in the candle and I had to pick up her cupcake and move it away from her because she kept trying to grab it.  When we finished singing and I blew out the candle, she immediately grabbed it.  I snatched it away from her pretty quickly, thinking that she might have burned herself, and she started crying and had a major breath-holding episode.

DSC_0957

*Sigh*  She wasn’t really interested in the cupcake after that, so there was no cake smash, frosting smear, messy face.  She did have a few little tastes though.

DSC_0968

My little girl is 1.  I can’t believe a year has passed.  It’s been a crazy, fun, scary, exhausting ride.  We love you, baby girl!

***I’m a little late in posting about Evelyn’s birthday.  As much as I had been anticipating her big day, it felt a little strange to me to be on the internet posting photos of my baby and her little cupcakes.  On Friday morning, while I was snuggling my baby, singing “Happy Birthday” to her, feeding her breakfast, and making snowflake cookies, 20 little children were being called home and their parents’ lives were about to change in a way that I can’t even imagine.  I tried my best to go about my day, prepare for her birthday party, and ignore the news.  But who can ignore such tragic events?  Our weekend carried on, we enjoyed our party, we held our little girl extra tight.  But, I guess I just needed a few days to process the senselessness of this tragedy and the brokenness of our earthly existence before I could think about sharing photos of balloons and wrapping paper.  I wish that I could say that I have a better understanding now or that everything happens for a reason.  But I can’t say that.  I can’t make sense of it.  There is no reason.

My little girl is still here.  She’s a year old now and her birthday will always be burned in my mind as one of the happiest days of my life.  But I will always carry with me a little bit of sadness on this day, sadness for the lives lost and sadness for innocence lost.  Because giving birth to a child does not happen without giving birth to a mother.  And becoming a mother is both the happiest and scariest kind of transition.  Because just as quickly as this love has come into your life, it can be taken away without warning.  I have prayed and will continue to pray for the families of those sweet children…and pray that God won’t let me forget how very blessed I am.

Leave a Reply

