chicken “noodle” soup

IMG_1037

Today I had a craving for some homemade, comforting soup.  It’s cold and rainy and just one of those days.  I love me some soup.  It’s taken me awhile to get Michael to really appreciate it.  He grew up in Florida, so I guess one does not crave a steaming hot bowl of anything when it’s a zillion degrees outside.  But ’round here, when the leaves start to turn and there’s a chill in the air, I could eat soup every day.

Going primal has kind of limited my choices when it comes to soup…at least the kind of soup I grew up eating.  Here in PA Dutch country, most soups contain noodles, dough, or potatoes of some kind.  But I’ve managed to either modify some of my old favorites or learned to like some different kinds.  This is an old fave….just slightly altered.  I’ve replaced the noodles with cabbage that’s been cut into noodley strips.  This is soooo good and I don’t miss the old version at all.

I’m not really good at writing out soup recipes because I just kind of wing it most of the time.  But here’s how I made this one:

  1. Put a small amount of oil in a soup pot over medium heat.  Add chicken pieces (I used 3 quarters) and brown on each side for a few minutes.  Add some chopped onion and let that cook a little bit too.
  2. Add some water (about 3 cups)  and some chopped carrots and celery.  I didn’t have any celery today, so I sprinkled in some celery salt.  Bring to a boil, then turn down the heat, cover the pot and allow it to simmer.
  3. Once the chicken is cooked, remove the pieces from the pot and allow it to cool.  In the meantime, chop up the cabbage, add it to the pot, and continue to let it simmer.  At this point, I decided it needed more water so I added another 3 cups.
  4. Once the chicken is cool enough to handle, pick the meat from the bones and add it back to the pot.
  5. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

