feeding a toddler grain-free

Eggs and avocado...a favorite breakfast.
Eggs and avocado…a favorite breakfast.

I’ve talked a lot so far on this blog about our grain-free, mostly primal eating habits.  When I found out I was pregnant I decided that I would continue to follow the same diet and Michael and I decided that our child would be mostly primal too.  I’m happy to say that we’ve done a pretty good job of it so far.  While we want our little girl to eat healthy, whole foods, we do realize that we live in a world where people put processed, refined rice in baby bottles and Cheerios are the quintessential first finger food.  Avoiding grains, sugar, and processed foods is nearly impossible once your child is out of your own care and well, Michael and I plan to eat a little birthday cake every once in a while, so why would we keep it from her?  She’s had tastes of all the foods we normally avoid like pasta, cake, cookies, ice cream, and bread, but we don’t keep those things at home, so she’s only eaten them at the occasional family gathering or meal in a restaurant.  So, what do we feed her?  Well, to make a long story short, she eats what we eat, but she definitely has her favorites.

  • Bananas – The first time I gave her a little taste of banana on my finger, she immediately started crying for more.  She eats a banana almost every day.
  • Apples – She looooooves apples….apple sauce, baked apples with cinnamon, apple butter, no added sugar.  Is it any surprise that 2 of her first words were “nana” and “ap”?
  • Avocado – She and I usually share an avocado for breakfast in the morning, along with some scrambled eggs.
  • Eggs – Scrambled, fried, hard-boiled, or egg salad.
  • Cottage cheese or yogurt – She will eat cottage cheese plain or with some fruit mixed in.  I buy a large container of plain Greek yogurt and then mix it in the food processor with strawberries or blueberries and bananas, no need for sugar.  She’ll also eat small chunks of other cheeses (cheddar, meunster, colby, etc.)
  • Meat – we had a rough start with meat.  She just wouldn’t eat it and I think it was the texture she didn’t like, but she is starting to eat it more now.  She especially likes meatloaf and meatballs (made with pureed veggies and a tiny bit of coconut flour instead of bread crumbs).
  • Sweet potatoes – She shovels these in like there’s no tomorrow.
  • Veggies – We gave her a lot of veggies right from the start.  For some reason, she tends to avoid green veggies, though she has recently shown an interest in broccoli and I’ve even seen her chow down on brussel sprouts.  She loves carrots and she will eat peppers, onions, zucchini, squash, peas, and green beans, but it really depends on her mood.
  • Fruit – this kid is basically the next thing to a fruitarian.  As well as bananas and apples, she will eat just about any fruit.  Some of her favorites so far have been kiwi, pineapple, prunes, figs, raisins, and strawberries.

I love that she will try anything.  Sometimes she spits foods out, but we don’t make a big deal about it, and we don’t write off that food forever.  Introducing a food sometimes requires several tries.  I am so looking forward to summer and lots of fresh fruit and veggies for her to try.

One of the things I have been worrying about lately is what will happen to her diet when/if we have to put her in child care.  Michael has starting applying for jobs and we’re hoping he’ll have something by the end of summer.  Does your child follow an unconventional diet?  How do you maintain some control when he/she is out of your care?

One thought on “feeding a toddler grain-free

  1. It’s so important to make sure they eat healthy. I worry about the same when the time comes that I have to send my son out in the world. We don’t follow any particular diet, but I make sure I prepare mostly all his meals myself. He loves veggies, fruit and fish and will eat just about anything, except whole roasted tomatoes and olives. He gets bread and pasta, but never white bread and preferably brown rice, barley or quinoa. I love cooking for him! As for sugar, we try to keep that to an absolute minimum, but won’t deny him an ice cream if the weather is hot. It’ll be a long,long time before Maccas get their greasy food into our little man. Oh how I dread that day.

Leave a Reply

