trying (the second time around)

Well, I guess it’s no secret that we’re trying again.  I’d really like to be pregnant before Evelyn’s 2nd birthday (in December).  It might be nice to have a summer baby this time.  If this is your first time visiting here, you might not yet know that it took me 6 years to get pregnant with baby #1.  I’m really not planning to wait another 6 years for a baby.  Already, I’m no spring chicken and neither is Michael.  In fact, some of his high school and college classmates have children who are going to college and some are even having children of their own.  We could both very realistically be grandparents at our age.  Yikes!

For as long as it took me to get pregnant the first time around, you might think I’d be worried that I’ll have trouble again, but I am not.  This time around is very different.  In fact, it doesn’t even feel like we’re “trying.”  It feels a lot more like we’re “not preventing.”  The word trying indicates some effort on our part and well, we’re really too busy to put forth much effort.

My life is very different as I set out this time…much different than it was when I started TTC the first time.  So, my approach is also very different this time.  I am…

NOT telling my husband about every little detail
He doesn’t need to know if it’s the ideal time of the month. It adds too much unnecessary pressure.

Relaxing
I could write a whole post about what not to say to someone who’s struggling to get pregnant.  “Just relax and it will happen” could top the list.   No amount of relaxing will get you pregnant.  BUT, it can help you keep your sanity (and prevent you from punching someone in the face), which is always a good thing.  I am much more relaxed this time around.

Eating Right
I got pregnant the first time around by changing to a grain-free, sugar-free diet and I have mostly stayed with it. There are tons of other reasons for me to maintain this way of eating, but I know that if I want to get pregnant, I need to keep my hormones in check and eating well is the best way I know how to do that.

Counting my blessings
For years, I spent a lot of time wallowing in self-pity and wondering why life was so unfair. This time I am able to look at all the blessings in my life. I’d love to give Evelyn a sibling, but I know I can be ok if it doesn’t happen.

Interesting…that ended up being a shorter list than I thought, yet the differences are profound.

Evelyn is showing a lot of curiosity about babies these days.  She loves the babies at her daycare and talks about and notices babies all the time.  I think she would make an awesome big sister, don’t you?

brushing baby

 

2 thoughts on “trying (the second time around)

  1. I do think she’d make a great big sister! Best of luck to you as you “don’t prevent” : )

    I’ve posted on your old blog before. I have pcos and have been TTC for 2.5 years. I went gluten free 1.5 years ago, and mostly grain-free and sugar-free in January of this year. I really believe I can get pregnant naturally eating this way! But it hasn’t happened yet…. We aren’t truly trying anymore either, because actively TTC for so many years is exhausting! I’m just curious how long after making your dietary changes you got pregnant with Evelyn. Thanks for sharing!

    • Sorry I’m so delayed in answering your comment, Eva. I’m still learning the ins and outs of the new blog. Glad to see you here! I had only been on the diet for about 6-8 weeks when I found out I was pregnant with Evelyn. I also went to an acupuncturist right around the time I cut grains and sugar. I think I might try that again this time around. I definitely notice a difference when I am not being very strict with my diet though. My cycles go back to being wacky! I wish you luck. I definitely know how exhausting it can be!

Leave a Reply

