my anti pity-party

I’ve been pretty miserable to be around lately, so I apologize if you’ve bumped into me recently and found me less than peachy.  Michael has been out of town and I have been playing single mom to my increasingly obstinate little girl.  I have been sick and in pain.  Evelyn has also been sick and I have had to use what little vacation time I had to be able to stay home and take care of her (so much for time off at Christmas!).  I am plagued by a constant sense of guilt (ok, and maybe a little jealousy) over the fact that someone else gets to be with my child all day long and I feel like I always have to choose between work obligations and family obligations.  I’m spread too thin and I can’t give 100% of myself to anything.  I’m really not happy with the state of affairs in my life.

Let’s just call it what it is.  I have been having a great. big. pity. party.

Sometimes when I forget to be grateful for things, God finds a way to remind me how blessed I really am.  I usually have to learn this lesson the hard way…and repeatedly.  I know how much worse off I could be on a cognitive level, but my emotional self just wants to whine and pout.  Fortunately, today God chose a light tap on the shoulder instead of a swift kick in the pants to wake me up.

I was sitting in a training session at a work conference and the presenter showed this video.  I’m not really sure why…it didn’t really have anything to do with the topic of the workshop, but there it was…just what I needed to see today.  And I thought it was worth sharing….because I like you.

I hope you’ll take a few minutes to watch, especially if you need a healthy (and beautiful) dose of perspective.

One thought on “my anti pity-party

Leave a Reply

