learning about feelings (welcome home, daddy!)

daddy

I have been such a bad mom when it comes to recording milestones.  I don’t know why.  Evelyn does and says amazing things every day and I think, man, I should write that down.  But then I don’t.  Bad mommy.

A few nights ago something happened that just melted my heart so here I am, writing it down.  I did, after all, commit to writing one post a day for the whole month, so prepare for random thoughts and ponderings…

We were out in the rain for Evelyn’s first Trick or Treat and we were anxiously awaiting Michael’s return home from 8 long weeks of job training.  About a half hour (and approximately 5 houses) in, I got a call from him.  He was stranded, in the rain, at a seedy gas station, about 30 miles away.  Car trouble.  I had to pack up our costumed baby and go get him.

About 10 minutes into the drive, Evelyn started to get fussy and cry.  She wanted out of her car seat.  I was surrounded by huge trucks on the windy, wet interstate and I had to try to calm her down so I could focus on the road.  As a result, we had a conversation that went something like this:

Me:  Evelyn, listen.  Daddy’s car is broken and he is stuck so we have to go get him.  I know you don’t like being in your car seat, but you have to try to be patient.  We will be there soon.

E:  We help him?

Me:  Yes, we’re going to help him.

E:  Oh, no, Daddy!  Daddy stuck!  Daddy, daddy, daddy!

Me:  It’s ok.  Daddy’s ok.  We just have to get him because his car is broken.

E:  Daddy say, Help me please?

Me:  Yes, Daddy needs help.  We’re going to help him.

E:  Don’t worry, Daddy.  Don’t worry……..Daddy crying?

Me:  No Daddy’s not crying.  He’s waiting for us.

E:  Don’t worry Daddy.

We went back and forth like this for awhile.  I love that she’s starting to be able to recognize feelings and identify with other’s feelings as well.  If there is one quality that I want her to have, it’s compassion for others.

I think she’s so happy that her Daddy is home.  She’s been walking around the house all day saying, “Mommy and Daddy and Evelyn, Mommy and Daddy and Evelyn.”  

Melt.

I’m so glad he’s home too.  Now we can try to figure out our new “normal” around here.

Until the next bump in the road….

 

One thought on “learning about feelings (welcome home, daddy!)

Leave a Reply

