NaBloPoMo (what I’ve learned so far)

About a week ago I read about NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) and decided to give it a whirl.  All that’s required is to post once a day on your blog for the month of November.  Sounds easy, right?  Wrong.  It’s really not.

I have been blogging since 2009, when I was laid off from work for a short time.  I was sitting around the house, wondering what to do with myself, so I started blogging.  But it’s only been during the past 6 months or so that I have been really sharing my blog with other people and actually encouraging people to read it.  I thought this would be a good way to get more exposure for my blog and to have a chance to explore other blogs and connect with other bloggers.

I knew going into this that it would be hard.  I figured I’d probably end up quitting in the middle (or maybe even a few days in).  I can’t even finish a month long photo-a-day project.  How in the world am I going to finish this?!  Well, somehow I made it through the first week so, what have I learned so far about daily blogging?

At this point, I’ve learned that after this month, I will not be posting daily.  My life is just too busy and I have too many things on my plate to post quality work each day.  I will probably be a 1-2 posts a week kind of gal.

I’ve learned how to create and maintain an editorial calendar.  In fact, I just filled up the whole month with ideas for posts, so hopefully, I won’t run out of inspiration.

I’ve learned that every post does not have to be deep or profound.  Sometimes it’s fun to just write fluffy content…and this should be fun.  If not, why bother?

I’ve also reaffirmed (because I already knew it) that I am far to hard on myself.  I am too critical of my own work and I stress about it too much.  Again, if this is more stressful than it is fun, what’s the point?  So I guess I could say I’m learning to relax a little bit about blogging.

Well, I think that’s it for now.  It’s only been a week, but I am looking forward to finishing out the month.  Hope you’ll follow along.

One thought on “NaBloPoMo (what I’ve learned so far)

Leave a Reply

