almost 2

DSC_0100

It’s so hard for me to believe that my little girl is almost two.  In exactly 1 month, we will sing our Happy Birthday song and hopefully she will blow out the candles and not grab the hot wicks like she did last year.  I’ve been talking to her about it and she’s been practicing holding up two fingers to show everyone how old she will be.  She even sings along, Happy Doothday to YOU!

The second year seems to have flown by faster than the first and it’s so very apparent that what we have here is a little girl and not a baby anymore.

Miss Evelyn has become fiercely independent, wanting to do everything for herself and resisting any kind of help from Michael and me.  It can be supremely frustrating at times, but I know she is developing many of the skills she will need to function in the world, so we try to be patient as she goes about the routines of the day at a turtle’s speed, with tears in her eyes when she can’t do what she wants to do and gigantic smiles, bursting with pride, when she accomplishes even the tiniest of goals.

I love watching her play. Every movement is so intentional. She examines, studies, and explores, talking to herself and singing all the little songs that we’ve taught her.  She loves to sing and dance. I catch her singing to herself all the time (The ABC Song, Jesus Loves Me, Twinkle, Twinkle, Frere Jacques, and Old McDonald).  Michael turns on a Swan Lake video and she twirls like a ballerina.  She’s getting much better at climbing, much to my chagrin, and she loves to show me how she can walk backwards.

20131113-220028.jpg

I always told myself I wouldn’t raise a pampered princess girly girl, but Evelyn loves to be girly all on her own. She loves to play dress up and put on her “make-up” and she even got excited when she saw me laying out her clothes for picture day and she saw that I laid out a pair of stockings.  Today I brought home some coats that a co-worker gave me and some shoes that I picked up at a consignment shop.  She had so much fun trying them on and cried when we told her she had to take her shoes off for bed.

I never realized how complicated it could be to introduce spiritual concepts to children. My knowledge of early childhood development tells me that most Bible stories are inappropriate for a child her age and the concept of believing in an unseen force is way to abstract for her to grasp, but she just seems to know. In the middle of a tantrum I can say to her, “You seem really frustrated. You should ask Jesus to help you with that.” and she replies, “OK” and calms right down. She will bring me her Daddy’s big books and say, “Let’s read a book about Jesus.” We have started saying prayers at bedtime and even if she is fighting me to get ready for bed, she will listen calmly to my prayers and fall asleep shortly after I’ve finished.

She is such a sensitive soul, which can be good and bad. She tends to cry at the drop of the hat, but is very much in tune with other’s feelings.  She gets visibly upset when she talks about others being sad or hurt.  I love that we’re starting to be able to have full conversations.  She loves to talk…and talk…and talk.

Oh, how I love this kid.  I can’t believe she is going to be 2 in a few short weeks.

20131113-215952.jpg

Leave a Reply

