birthday cake

Last year I was planning Evelyn’s December birthday in July.  This year, not so much.  It’s not that I am not excited about her birthday.  Actually, I am super-excited.  I just don’t have the energy for a big bash this year. Still, I have been lurking around Pinterest, searching for some cute cakes and simple decorations.  This year the plan is a simple dinner at home, followed by ice cream and cake.  Grandparents and perhaps a few Aunts, Uncles, and Cousins.  Whoever is available to stop over.  December is a difficult month for birthdays, with so many other celebrations going on, so we’re just going to play it really low-key.  I’ll probably wait until she turns 5 to have another big party and by then, I think Michael and I will have to decide what kind of birthday traditions we’d like to establish for her.  We always said we wanted to keep her day separate from Christmas and special on its own, so coming up with some little traditions that are all about her is really important to me.

I’ve been really talking to her about her birthday…even more than I’ve talked to her about Christmas. We’ve talked about the fact that she will be two years old and we’ve been practicing holding up two fingers. She’s learned how to sing Happy Birthday and I’ve told her that we will sing to her and she will blow out the candles on her birthday cake. She always giggles when I tell her that. The first time I mentioned cake to her she said, And ice cream? I think I’m almost more excited about her birthday than she is!

Check out all these cute cakes.  Even if we have the most lame-o party, I really want to bake my own cake. Hmm…which one should I try?

Leave a Reply

