planning a bathroom makeover

Ever since we moved into our house almost 3 years ago, I have wanted to redo the upstairs bathroom.  But, I was pregnant at the time, and then came the newborn phase and well, I’ve just never moved forward with my plans.

Lately, I’ve had the itch to make the changes.  Or maybe I just can’t stand the sight of it anymore.  Yeah, that’s probably closer to the truth.  Regardless, I went out to Lowe’s today to pick up the stuff I would need to complete 3 projects.  I figure if the stuff is here waiting for me, I will be more likely to actually do it!

So here’s a lovely comparison photo.  The top is my bathroom as it was when we first moved in.  I’d venture to say that it looks even worse now.  Little by little, I have picked off the wallpaper around the tub and the rest of the border.  You probably can’t tell, but there is carpet on the floor…yuck…and the accents are a hodge podge of colors and textures.  It’s subtle in this picture, but the wallpaper and carpet have hideous flecks of pink and aqua green.

bathroom
Inspiration photo by Peter Chen

The bottom picture is my inspiration.  We don’t have a lot of money for this makeover so I won’t be changing out the vanity or anything like that.  My work will be mainly cosmetic and, as I mentioned, I have 3 projects in mind.  I’ve been gathering up some inspiration around the net and here are some other things I have in mind:

bathroom inspiration board

  1. I am planning to stain the existing cabinet a dark expresso color, following this tutorial from Monica Wants It.
  2. I like the idea of using mason jars for storage, sort of like this design from The DIY Playbook.
  3. I really can’t wait to rip out all the carpet and replace it with vinyl tiles, following this tutorial from Courtney over at Project Courtney.
  4. This is the color scheme I have in mind.  I am planning to paint the walls and I’m thinking a calming shade of blue.  Our walls are “tile” on the bottom half and I put that in quotations because I don’t think they are real tile (unless it is just hiding under layers of paint).  I think it’s some kind of a laminate or paneling that looks like tile.  Anyway, I am going to keep that white and the wall above the “tile” will be blue.
  5. I’m not 100% sure what I want to do with the small window yet, but I like the light, airy feel of this simple clothespin curtain by Julie Carlson of Remodelista.

I’m thinking that I can do all of this for around $200, and I’ve already purchased most of the supplies I will need, so now it’s just a matter of getting started!

Stay tuned…

4 thoughts on “planning a bathroom makeover

  1. Why, why, why do people put carpet in the bathroom!!! We had carpet in our bathrooms too and it was so liberating ripping it out!!! For the first few years I had the peel and stick vinyl tiles and they were actually quite nice and easy to clean. This is going to be so pretty! It will be so nice when you’re done. 😀 Oh and I love the color scheme.

    • I have no idea about the carpet. We already ripped a ton of carpet out of our house and found nice, hardwood underneath it.

  2. I really like your inspiration photo. I feel like you’re close! Just don’t do what I do – I get overwhelmed and I don’t start. Remember, you don’t have to do it all at once!

    • I really wanted to start staining the vanity today, but my child is refusing to nap. Ugh. As much as I’d like to start with the tile, I will save that for last. That way, if I get any stain or paint on the floor, it won’t matter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

