things I want to remember: Evelyn at 30 months

dandelion

I’m really not one of those moms who calculates her child’s age in months until she’s off to college, but 30 months has some significance for me.  I work for an infant/toddler education program and when children turn 30 months, we begin to prepare them for the transition to preschool.  Preschool.  I can’t believe my girl will soon be reaching preschool age.  Heck, I still refer to her as “the baby” most of the time.  Where did the time go?

I also have been a very bad mom when it comes to recording milestones.  I have taken enough photos to wallpaper my whole house, but I’ve really slacked on any other kind of record keeping.  But certainly, I want to remember her as she is right now.

Dear Evelyn,

You are only 2 and a half, but you know so much.  You are wise beyond your years.  People have always said you seem like an “old soul” and I agree (you take after your mom).  One of the things that surprises me most about you at this age is your grasp on the spiritual realm.  I wouldn’t have believed that a child your age could have any kind of comprehension of that, but you do.  A few weeks ago as we were driving by the coffee shop (which also happens to be our church), you pointed it out, “There’s our church!”  I agreed, “Yep, that’s our church.”  You started in on me.  “That’s not your church, Mommy.  That’s not Daddy’s church.”  I said, “No, it’s God’s church.”  Your eyes widened and you whispered, “YES! God loves me and my family and He says Pray to Me…”  Whenever it’s time for books at bedtime, you always pick out the Bible stories or books about God and I love watching you fold your hands and close your eyes as you sing “grace” at meal times.

strawberries

You love to talk and sing.  You know so many songs, I can’t even keep up and you make up new words to the tunes of songs you already know.  You are always singing…and reading.  You love books too.  Lately, when I put you to bed at night you manage to get books into your bed and I always find you with at least one book tucked under your head or arms when I come into check on you before I go to bed.  There are times when you ask me to read to you, but then end up reading another book on your own and not really listening to me anyway, and then there are times when you will curl up on my lap and listen to every word.

You’re a mommy’s girl right now.  Most of the time you protest if your Daddy tries to do things for you, but soon I will be leaving my job to stay at home with you and I think that will quickly change as you will probably get bored with your dear, old mom.  You’ve started calling me “mom” in the past few days.  It’s weird to hear the shift from “mommy” to “mom.”  It makes you seem like such a big girl when you say it.  You’re growing by leaps and bounds every day.

You love to play with our neighbor, Kole, and ask for him every day.  You also love your friends at church, Piper, Maria, Grove, and now Baby Harrison.  You just love babies.  The teachers at your daycare sometimes let you play in the baby room if you don’t nap while you’re there.  You also love to play with older kids, especially your cousins.  Recently, your cousins came to stay with us for a few days and when they left, you cried, “But I miss them!!”

You’ve never been much of a risk-taker and you are so serious when you are trying something new.  Recently, we took you to a carnival and you wanted to ride all the rides, but I had to tell you, “Smile, Evelyn, you’re having fun!”  You smiled then, but it took some work on my part.  I think you just forget to smile…you are too busy studying and analyzing everything.

You are a very sensitive kid and I am trying to come to terms with that and see the positive in it.  It is a positive thing.  You cry easily and are easily offended if someone corrects or scolds you.  Your breath holding spells have decreased, but you still have them and it’s still hard to watch you struggle through them, even if I have become accustomed to it.  Somehow, this extra sensitivity will work to your advantage. It’s a part of who you are.  Tonight I watched you rock and sing to your baby doll, then read her a book, and lie down next to her to put her to sleep.  So sweet.

tea party

There is so much I am looking forward to doing with you in the months ahead as I make the transition from work to home.  I pray that I am doing the right thing by leaving my job to stay at home with you and I hope that it will be a learning a growing experience for both of us.

Today at the grocery store, the cashier asked you how old you are.  You held up two fingers and said, “I’m two,” very matter-of-factly.  Then you added, “and I’m three,” and added another finger.  Not yet, little one.  Don’t rush it.  You’re already growing up too quickly.

 

Leave a Reply

