Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

iced coffee

This weekend I discovered the beauty of cold brewed coffee.  Oh my.

I am a coffee addict…with standards.  I love coffee, but I’m picky about how I like it.  I usually have a cup in the morning and, around 2:00 in the afternoon, I hit a slump and usually go for another cup then.  But, when the warm weather strikes, I tend to crave iced coffee in the afternoon, so I sometimes hit a drive-thru…lots of cream, no sugar (and then I add my own stevia to add just a touch of sweetness).

Now that we are living on one income, I’ve gotta curb my drive-thru habits.  I’ve tried making iced coffee at home and it usually sucks. In a pinch, I have brewed a cup of coffee, let it cool a bit and then just added ice, cream, and sometimes a sweetener.  I always regret it when I make it like this.  I end up with mostly melted ice, floating on the top of a watered-down, completely unsatisfying beverage.

Ok, so you would think that to solve this problem, you could just brew a pot of coffee and chill it in the fridge.  I’m afraid it ain’t so.  It’s just not the same.  The depth of flavor just isn’t there.  You need a brew that can compete with all the cream and ice that make an iced coffee so awesome.

So, I decided to experiment.  We have a discount store around here where I can pick up coffee for about $2-$3 a pound.  Last time we went, Michael accidentally grabbed an espresso, so it’s just been sitting in the closet because we didn’t really like it brewed in the traditional way and I rarely break out my espresso maker.

The method is simple.  Dump coffee into a pitcher or other container.  Add cold water.  Stir.  Allow to sit overnight or for about 8 hours.  Strain off the coffee grounds.  Refrigerate and enjoy!

I can’t believe I had this amazingness at my fingertips all this time and didn’t even realize it!  And it’s mine, all mine!  (Michael doesn’t like iced coffee…and he’s a crazy person, did I mention that?)

Let me guess…you’d like me to be a little more specific with my instructions.  I can do that.

  • I used a 1 gallon pitcher
  • I used approximately 1/2 of the bag of coffee (maybe a bit less)
  • To strain it, I poured the brewed coffee and grounds through a fine mesh strainer, lined with a paper towel (no fancy-schmancy cheesecloth over here).
  • That’s it.  Really.

If you haven’t tried this yet, what are you waiting for?  Don’t look at me, ’cause I’m not sharing any of mine.

2 thoughts on “Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

  1. Carrie, your layout is fantastic!

    I was a coffee slinger in a past life known as grad school. We brewed double strength coffee for the iced coffee, but IMO it didn’t taste good after a few hours. And your cold-brew method appeals to my lazier sensibilities. I’m trying this!

    • Thanks! I have been playing around with my layout but never seem to be satisfied with it. Hope you like the coffee!

Leave a Reply

