bucket list

bucket list

Recently someone asked me if I have a bucket list.  The question caught me like a deer in headlights.  I don’t know if it’s because I am in the new mom survival mode, and I can’t even imagine the next time I will do something for myself, or if I’ve already done a lot of things and haven’t had a chance to re-evaluate and set some new goals.  Regardless of the reason, I kind of felt like a loser as I struggled to think of a single thing I’d really like to do.  I kind of feel like I am in the middle of a mid-life crisis.  I really don’t know what I want to do with myself in the years to come.  I’ve been traveling along in the here and now for the past few years.

The question reminded me of a little notebook that I have packed away somewhere.  In the back of it, I had started a bucket list of sorts when I was in my early 20s.  I decided to dig it out to remind myself of the aspirations of my younger self.  Apparently, when I started the list, I intended to have 100 items on it, but I only managed to fill up 56 of them.  Those of you who know me know that I am not a risk-taker.  Putting this blog out for the world to see is about as risky as it gets for me.  There is no bungee-jumping, rock climbing, or skydiving on my list.  I chuckled to myself as I read it, a reflection of who I was at the time and how different life was only 12 years ago.

I’ve managed to cross off many of the items over the years such as

  1. Get my degree
  2. Own a home
  3. Have a child

Some of the items got deleted, mainly because I lost interest in those things, such as

  1. Take salsa lessons
  2. Learn Italian
  3. Live in a big city

So, is there anything on the list that I still want to do?  I have to admit that the idea of keeping this list is a little scary.  What if I never accomplish my goals?  But, it’s my list and I can do what I want.  The only person I have to answer to is me.

Mainly, I just really want to see my child(ren) grow into happy, well-adjusted, compassionate, caring people.  And that’s not a passive goal to have.  That’s going to take a lot of work on my part.  But a few things jumped out at me that I’d like to see through.

  1. Visit Europe again – I studied abroad in France in college and I’d love to go back.
  2. Learn to knit – my grandma is a pro and I really need to ask her to teach me.
  3. Finish my dollhouse – I’ve had this thing since I was 3 years old and I’d love to pass it on to Evelyn.
  4. Become a foster parent – I’d like to have one more child of my own, but I’ve been thinking about foster parenting for years now.
  5. Become a stay-at-home mom – I love my job, but I love the idea of being at home with my kid(s) even more.

There are many other items that I will keep in the list.  It’s fun to look back every once in awhile to see what I’ve accomplished and to add new aspirations as they arise.

Do you have a bucket list?

Leave a Reply

