the best way to cook spaghetti squash

Whether you are following a low carb diet or just trying to get more veggies in your life, spaghetti squash is a great substitute for pasta.  I tried to make it when we first went grain-free, as a substitute for my old, classic favorite (spaghetti), and I hated it.  I was so disappointed because I wanted to like it.  I love spaghetti and I knew I was going to miss it.  Spaghetti squash was my answer and it completely let me down.

A few weeks ago, we were buying produce at an Amish farm nearby.  I spotted the spaghetti squash and decided to give it another try.  I was worried about the best way to cook it and questioned a few of my coworkers on the best method.  I settled on baking it and it turned out so, so good.  We devoured it with meat sauce and grated parmesan.  I have no idea what happened the first time I made it.  I can’t remember how I cooked it, but it was watery and had a weird taste.  This time, it was perfect.

To bake the squash, cut it in half lengthwise (be careful with that knife!) and scoop out the seeds and pulp.

Now place the halves cut side down on a baking sheet like this:

DSC_0385

Place them in the oven and bake at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes, depending on the size of the squash.  When it’s done, use a fork to gently scrape out the flesh.  It should come out in strands that look very similar to spaghetti.

DSC_0386

 

And that’s it…easy peasy!  Just use it as a substitute for spaghetti and you won’t need a nap 20 minutes after eating.

Leave a Reply

