The Life of a Nomad


Well, I have spent the last 4-5 days moving into a new apartment and it has been torture. I HATE moving. I am thrilled about the new place. Our last place was way too small for my brother, myself, and the dog. At least we only moved a street away in the same cluster of townhouses we were in before, so the move wasn’t TOO bad, but I just don’t know how I manage to accumulate so much stuff. I swear every time I move, I get rid of a bunch of crap but somehow, I never seem to have less stuff to move. Anyway, we are finally settled in. Well, almost. I still have a lot of things to put away but at least everything is in, and I have all the time in the world to arrange things to my liking. Luke (my bro) has taken over the finished basement and has dubbed it “The Man Cave” while I have taken over the second floor, otherwise known as “The Maiden’s Quarters.” Of course we share the common areas (the living room, kitchen, and bathroom). We have a lovely view and Micael, who says he has lived in many different apartments , thinks it’s the best view he’s seen. The other night, he was here for dinner and when he finished his glass of wine, decided to sit it on the windowsill. I liked the way it looked sitting there with the nice view behind it, so I decided to take a picture.

So, my goal this week is to work on my “quarters,” setting up my bedroom and turning the second bedroom into a crafting room/library. I also want to put some of my herbs in the little patch of dirt out front. I have already started some new herbs on the kitchen windowsill because I would like to have them available throughout the winter. I will put the lavender outside and I started some chives, oregano, thyme, parsley, and basil in the window. I am not sure what I want to do with the rosemary yet.

Even though I know I will probably be moving again in another year or so, I have to really set up my space and make it cozy. There’s no place like home.

Leave a Reply

